Newbery and Caldecott Results

The Newbery and Caldecott Awards are THE most prestigious children’s book awards in the United States.  The Caldecott award is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished picture book published in the U.S.  The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to literature for children.

This year’s Newbery Medal winner is:

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos
Honor books:

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai

Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin

The exciting news for us is that JACK GANTOS WILL BE HERE IN JULY!!!  He accepted an invitation to be one of the Books For Young Readers Symposium guests well before the Newbery Award.  If you are interested in attending that Symposium, contact BYU’s Conferences and Workshops.  It is such a fun event for book lovers (more in a future post).

For now I must confess that no, I did not predict even one of the Newbery books. I did suspect Dead End in Norvelt.  The others I can’t wait to read.

This year’s Caldecott Medal winner is:

A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka 
(OK, I admit it, I had heard a lot of buzz & hoped this would NOT win)

Honor books

Blackout by John Rocco (Love it!)

Grandpa Green by Lane Smith (expected this one)

Me . . . Jane BY Patrick McDonnell (saw this one coming)

Please convince me that A Ball for Daisy is a deserving medal winner.  I want to be a believer.  Look at it side by side with Sea of Dreams by Dennis Nolan or Never Forgotten by Patricia C. McKissack artwork by Leo & Diane Dillon and re-convince me.

Are you happy with this year’s winners?

 Me....Jane, Blackout, and Grandpa Green are currently in stock in the BYU Bookstore.